Follow us on:

      

This form does not yet contain any fields.

    Opportunities

     

    ThinkTank9@
    MSU 2016

    More information

     

     

    Quick Contact Info

     

    President:
    Rae Goodwin
    goodwinrae@gmail.com

    Vice President:
    Lily Kuonen
    lilykuonen@gmail.com

    VP for Publications & Treasurer:
    Shaila Christofferson

    skchristo@gmail.com 

    Associate VP for Publications:
    Katie Ries

    kt.ries@gmail.com

    Editor, Future Forward:
    Lucy Curzon
    lcurzon@as.ua.edu

    VP for Communications:
    Kristin Skees
    kristin.skees@cnu.edu

    Associate VP for Communications:
    Diane Tarter
    tarterd@wou.edu

    VP for Education: 
    Thomas Albrecht
    albrecht@newpaltz.edu

    Associate VP for Education: 
    Kjellgren Alkire
    kjellgren.alkire@gmail.com

    VP for Progamming: 
    Dean Adams
    dean-mt@rocketmail.com 

    Associate VP for Progamming: 
    Claire van der Plas
    cvanderplas@adams.edu

    Associate VP for Progamming: 
    Jessica Burke
    jburke@georgiasouthern.edu

    VP for Outreach: 
    Joan Giampa, D. Arts
    joni33033@gmail.com

    VP for Development: 
    Cynthia Hellyer-Heinz
    chheinz4@comcast.net

    Associate VP for Development & Outreach: 
    Erin Hoffman

    erin.hoffman@muskegoncc.edu

    VP for International Development:
    Jesse Payne
    jwpayne2@qatar.vcu.edu 

     

    « November 2011 Educators Showcase: Michelle Illuminato | Main | September 2011 Educators Showcase: Lucy Curzon »
    Monday
    Oct032011

    October 2011Educators Showcase: Kristin Skees

    Kristin Skees’ artwork combines traditional women’s craft, contemporary DIY culture, and a love of the unexpected and absurd. In her current interdisciplinary project, Cozy Portraits, Kristin creates custom cozies for her photography subjects, who are often close friends and family. Like an ill-fitting handmade sweater, the cozies are about the claustrophobia and absurdity of relationships. Some of the portraits take a week to complete, and some take a year. From beginning to end, the piece is defined by the relationship, dialog, and collaboration with the person being cozied. This work is currently being exhibited in the show Cozied at the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s ArtLab. Kristin received her MFA from the University of Arizona, and also has a MLIS from the University of Alabama. Last year she was awarded an Emerging Educator Fellowship from ITI. Kristin currently teaches Digital Photography, Video Art and 2D Design at Christopher Newport University in Virginia.

    Kristin Skees Portfolio

       

    Kristin Skees Website

    Assignment: Squares of Communication

    click here to download Full Text of the Assignment

    Squares of Communication: Student Work Examples

    Materials: 6 x 6 inch designs made with black Artagain paper on 8.5 x 11 inch worksheets, flush mounted to bristol board

      

    click on images above for larger view